Contact Us

Search Options
Filter:     
Browse:    ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Sterling Bone

Sterling Bone

Associate Professor
Departments: Management
Location:  Business 302B
Office Phone:  435.797.9631
Fax:  435.797.1091

Education:

Ph.D., William S. Spears School of Business, Oklahoma State University, 2006
M.B.A., Utah State University, Logan, Utah, 2001
B.A., Utah State University, Logan, Utah, 2000

Biography

Sterling A. Bone, Assistant Professor of Marketing in the Management Department at the Jon M. Huntsman School of Business is inspired by the passions of his students. As a proud two-time alumnus of USU, Dr. Bone was the beneficiary of life-altering mentors while he was a student. Paying it forward to his Aggie students, Dr. Bone is engaged with students on various research projects, including: the unintended consequences of marketing the American dream, the experience of restricted access to services for ethno racial minorities, the effect of marketing “princesses” on mother-daughter collective self-esteem and self-identity, and holistic feedback management systems to measure voice of the customer and voice of the employee.

Dr. Bone received his B.A. (2000) and M.B.A. (2001) from Utah State University where he also served on the President’s Leadership Council (1994-1995, 1997-2000). He received his Ph.D. from Oklahoma State University in 2006.

His research has appeared in the Journal of Consumer Research (forthcoming), Journal of Service Research, Journal of Public Policy & Marketing, and other notable journals. He currently serves on the serves on the Arizona State University Center for Services Leadership research faculty network, and the editorial review boards of the Journal of Public Policy & Marketing and the Journal of Business Research. He has received many awards for his research and teaching including the Huntsman School Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year (USU), Outstanding Teacher in the Business Management Department (BYU), finalist for the Merrill J. Bateman Student Choice Award (BYU), nominee for the Brigham Award (BYU), and the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor (OSU).

His teaching is focused on strategic selling, account management, business development and marketing skills. Sterling’s students have launched sales and marketing careers with many Fortune 500 companies. In 2012, Sterling’s LinkedIn profile was among the top 5% viewed, which is a tribute to his loyal student alumni and corporate partners. He has received many awards for his teaching including the Outstanding Teacher in the Business Management Department (BYU), finalist for the Merrill J. Bateman Student Choice Award (BYU), nominee for the Brigham Award (BYU) and the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor (OSU).
Prior coming to USU, Dr. Bone was at Brigham Young University.

Prior to his academic career, Sterling worked as a sales professional in residential and commercial real estate. In his free time, Sterling enjoys long-distance running, fly-fishing, farming, and traveling with his wife and three sons. He can be reached at sterling.bone@usu.edu.

HUNTSMAN SCHOOL AWARDS

Undergrad Research Mentor of the Year - 2014

Related Huntsman News Articles

Minority Entrepreneurs Face Added Challenges (The Huntsman Post - July 2014)
GoPro Marketing Competition (The Huntsman Blog - April 2014)
Undergraduate Student Presents Research at International Marketing Conference (The Huntsman Blog - April 2014)
First-Ever Marketing Week (The Huntsman Post - March 2014)
USU "Sales Jedi" Enter State-Wide Competition and Leave With Top Prizes (The Huntsman Post - December 2013)
Master Class: Young Rebels Become Sales Jedi Knights in Management Course (Huntsman Alumni Magazine - Fall 2013)

Video

Sterling Bone Interview on Channel 4 About "Princess Marketing"

Name Title Phone Location Email
Albrecht, Chad Associate Professor of Management & Associate Academic Director of the MBA Program (435) 797-2365 Business 416 chad.albrecht@usu.edu
Alder, Suzette Business Assistant II 435.797.1789 Business 415 suzette.alder@usu.edu
Allen, Daniel Senior Lecturer 435.613.5245 Price Campus daniel.allen@usu.edu
Allred, Scott Lecturer 435.919.1281 Brigham City Campus scott.allred@usu.edu
Anderson, Douglas D. Dean & Professor of Management 435.797.2376 Business 511 douglas.anderson@usu.edu
Bartkus, Ken Professor 435.797.3891 Business 302A ken.bartkus@usu.edu
Bone, Sterling Associate Professor 435.797.9631 Business 302B sterling.bone@usu.edu
Brocato, Deanne Assistant Professor 435.797.7388 Business 306 deanne.brocato@usu.edu
Brough, Aaron R. Assistant Professor 435.797.1658 Business 302 aaron.brough@usu.edu
Callister, Ronda R. Professor 435.797.1905 Business 408 ronda.callister@usu.edu
Cook, Alison Associate Professor 435.797.7654 Business 404 alison.cook@usu.edu
Crane, Bret Assistant Professor    
Davis, James Department Head, Faculty Chair and Director of the MBA Program, and Professor 435.797.3882 Business 411 j.davis@usu.edu
Ferguson, John Lead Faculty Fellow, Senior Lecturer 435.797.0997 Business 702 john.ferguson@usu.edu
Ferguson, Merideth Associate Professor 435.797.3982 Business 410 merideth.ferguson@usu.edu
Gardner, Tim Associate Professor 435.797.3037 Business 405 timothy.gardner@usu.edu
Gibson , Cynthia Lecturer 435.259.7432 Moab Campus cynthia.gibson@usu.edu
Glauser, Michael Clinical Professor, Executive Director of the Jeffrey D. Clark Center for Entrepreneurship 435.797.8215 Business 309M mike.glauser@usu.edu
Hammond, Scott Clinical Professor 435.711.1702 Brigham City Campus scott.hammond@usu.edu
Hanks, Steven Associate Professor and Director, HR Graduate Studies 435.797.2373 Business 414 steven.hanks@usu.edu
Hartwell, Christopher Assistant Professor   Business 403
Herrmann, David Senior Lecturer 435.797.2287 Business 402 david.herrmann@usu.edu
Holland, Daniel Associate Professor, Huntsman Scholar Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.3132 Business 418 daniel.holland.usu.edu
Kannan, Vijay Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Executive Director of International Programs 435.797.7212 Business 412 vijay.kannan@usu.edu
Lee, Konrad Associate Professor 435.797.5090 Business 406 konrad.lee@usu.edu
Leftwich, Steve MBA Career Development Manager 435.797.8916 Business 310 steve.leftwich@usu.edu
Li, Kunpeng Assistant Professor 435.797.7386 Business 419 kunpeng.li@usu.edu
McConkie, Katherine Associate MBA Director & Advisor 435.797.1773 Business 108 katherine.mcconkie@usu.edu
Olson, Jacob Adjunct Faculty 435-512-8141   jacob.olson@usu.edu
Petersen, Annette Undergraduate Advisor 435.797.2272 Business 309 annette.petersen@usu.edu
Pond, Julie Program Coordinator 435.797.9063 Business 101 julie.pond@usu.edu
Ray, Kristal R. Assistant Professor 435.283.7650 Ephraim Campus - HiTec 142 kristal.ray@usu.edu
Robins, Dawsey Program Coordinator and Advisor 435.797.2360 Business 108 dawsey.robins@usu.edu
Roper, Strat Lecturer   Brigham City Campus strat.roper@usu.edu
Schulz, Eric Senior Lecturer 435.797.8216 Business 308 eric.schulz@usu.edu
Snyder, Ken Executive Dean and Chief Administrative Officer 435.797.1387 Business 507 ken.snyder@usu.edu
Sparrow, Brayden Entrepreneur-in-Residence 435.797.1107 BUS 309M brayden.sparrow@usu.edu
Stafford, Edwin Associate Department Head and Professor 435.797.3890 Business 304 ed.stafford@usu.edu
Thunell, Andy Administrator of the Jeffrey D. Clark Center for Entrepreneurship 435-797-1107 Business 311 andy.thunell@usu.edu
Warnick, Alan Principal Lecturer 435.797.2301 Business 407 alan.warnick@usu.edu
Washburn, Nathan Associate Professor 435.797.2273 Business 420 nathan.t.washburn@gmail.com
Winn, Brad Clinical Associate Professor, Organizational Leadership and Strategy Director, MHR Executive Program & Associate Director, Professional MBA 435.851.2002 Granite School District (SLGRSD) 504 brad.winn@usu.edu
Woolstenhulme, David Senior Lecturer 435.797.7910   david.woolstenhulme@usu.edu