Contact Us

Search Options
Filter:     
Browse:    ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Sterling Bone

Sterling Bone

Assistant Professor
Departments: Management
Location:  Business 302B
Office Phone:  435.797.9631
Fax:  435.797.1091

Education:

Ph.D., William S. Spears School of Business, Oklahoma State University, 2006
M.B.A., Utah State University, Logan, Utah, 2001
B.A., Utah State University, Logan, Utah, 2000

Biography

Sterling A. Bone, Assistant Professor of Marketing in the Management Department at the Jon M. Huntsman School of Business is inspired by the passions of his students. As a proud two-time alumnus of USU, Dr. Bone was the beneficiary of life-altering mentors while he was a student. Paying it forward to his Aggie students, Dr. Bone is engaged with students on various research projects, including: the unintended consequences of marketing the American dream, the experience of restricted access to services for ethno racial minorities, the effect of marketing “princesses” on mother-daughter collective self-esteem and self-identity, and holistic feedback management systems to measure voice of the customer and voice of the employee.

Dr. Bone received his B.A. (2000) and M.B.A. (2001) from Utah State University where he also served on the President’s Leadership Council (1994-1995, 1997-2000). He received his Ph.D. from Oklahoma State University in 2006.

His research has appeared in the Journal of Consumer Research (forthcoming), Journal of Service Research, Journal of Public Policy & Marketing, and other notable journals. He currently serves on the serves on the Arizona State University Center for Services Leadership research faculty network, and the editorial review boards of the Journal of Public Policy & Marketing and the Journal of Business Research. He has received many awards for his research and teaching including the Huntsman School Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year (USU), Outstanding Teacher in the Business Management Department (BYU), finalist for the Merrill J. Bateman Student Choice Award (BYU), nominee for the Brigham Award (BYU), and the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor (OSU).

His teaching is focused on strategic selling, account management, business development and marketing skills. Sterling’s students have launched sales and marketing careers with many Fortune 500 companies. In 2012, Sterling’s LinkedIn profile was among the top 5% viewed, which is a tribute to his loyal student alumni and corporate partners. He has received many awards for his teaching including the Outstanding Teacher in the Business Management Department (BYU), finalist for the Merrill J. Bateman Student Choice Award (BYU), nominee for the Brigham Award (BYU) and the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor (OSU).
Prior coming to USU, Dr. Bone was at Brigham Young University.

Prior to his academic career, Sterling worked as a sales professional in residential and commercial real estate. In his free time, Sterling enjoys long-distance running, fly-fishing, farming, and traveling with his wife and three sons. He can be reached at sterling.bone@usu.edu.

Related Huntsman News Articles

Minority Entrepreneurs Face Added Challenges (The Huntsman Post - July 2014)
GoPro Marketing Competition (The Huntsman Blog - April 2014)
Undergraduate Student Presents Research at International Marketing Conference (The Huntsman Blog - April 2014)
First-Ever Marketing Week (The Huntsman Post - March 2014)
USU "Sales Jedi" Enter State-Wide Competition and Leave With Top Prizes (The Huntsman Post - December 2013)
Master Class: Young Rebels Become Sales Jedi Knights in Management Course (Huntsman Alumni Magazine - Fall 2013)

Video

Sterling Bone Interview on Channel 4 About "Princess Marketing"

Name Title Phone Location Email
Albrecht, Chad Assistant Professor (435) 797-2365 Business 416 chad.albrecht@usu.edu
Alder, Suzette Business Assistant II 435.797.1789 Business 415 suzette.alder@usu.edu
Allen, Daniel Executive-in-Residence/Lecturer 435.613.5245 UMC 5035 daniel.allen@usu.edu
Allred, Scott Lecturer 435.919.1281 UMC 5035 scott.allred@usu.edu
Anderson, Douglas D. Dean & Professor of Management 435.797.2376 Business 511 douglas.anderson@usu.edu
Arrington, Christine Senior Lecture 435.797.2338 Business 306A christine.arrington@usu.edu
Bartkus, Ken Professor 435.797.3891 Business 302A ken.bartkus@usu.edu
Bone, Sterling Assistant Professor 435.797.9631 Business 302B sterling.bone@usu.edu
Brocato, Deanne Assistant Professor 435.797.7388 Business 306A deanne.brocato@usu.edu
Brough, Aaron R. Assistant Professor 435.797.1658 Business 302 aaron.brough@usu.edu
Brown-Bankhead, Lindi MBA Program Coordinator & Advisor 435.797.2360 Business 108 lindi.brown@usu.edu
Callister, Ronda R. Professor of Management 435.797.1905 Business 408 ronda.callister@usu.edu
Champlin, Natalee Administrator of the Center for Entrepreneurial Excellence, Assistant to Directors of Marketing and Branding 435.797.1107 Business 309M natalee.champlin@usu.edu
Cook, Alison Associate Professor 435.797.7654 Business 404 alison.cook@usu.edu
Davis, James Department Head, Faculty Chair and Director of the MBA Program, and Professor 435.797.3882 Business 411 j.davis@usu.edu
Ferguson, John Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.0997 Business 702 john.ferguson@usu.edu
Ferguson, Merideth Assistant Professor 435.797.3982 Business 410 merideth.ferguson@usu.edu
Gardner, Tim Associate Professor 435.797.3037 Business 405 tim.gardner@usu.edu
Gibson , Cynthia Lecturer in Business Management, Box Elder County Economic Development Liaison 435.919.1306 UMC 5035 cynthia.gibson@usu.edu
Glauser, Michael Clinical Professor of Management, Executive Director of the 435.797.8215 Business 309M mike.glauser@usu.edu
Hammond, Scott Clinical Professor 435.711.1702 CB 114G Roosevelt scott.hammond@usu.edu
Hanks, Steven Associate Professor and Director of Distance Education, Accreditation and Assessment 435.797.2373 Business 414 steven.hanks@usu.edu
Herrmann, David Executive-In-Residence 435.797.2287 Business 402 david.herrmann@usu.edu
Hinckley, Martin Adjunct Professor 435.734.9584   martin@assuredquality.com
Holland, Daniel Associate Professor, Huntsman Scholar Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.3132 Business 418 dan.holland@usu.edu
Kannan, Vijay Executive Director of International Programs, Professor 435.797.7212 Business 412 vijay.kannan@usu.edu
Lee, Konrad Associate Professor 435.797.5090 Business 406 konrad.lee@usu.edu
Li, Kunpeng Assistant Professor 435.797.7386 Business 419 kunpeng.li@usu.edu
McConkie, Katherine Associate MBA Director & Advisor 435.797.1773 Business 108 katherine.mcconkie@usu.edu
McEvoy, Glenn Professor 435.797.2375 Business 403 glenn.mcevoy@usu.edu
Olson, Jacob Adjunct Faculty 435-512-8141   jacob.olson@usu.edu
Pond, Julie Program Coordinator 435.797.9063 Business 101 julie.pond@usu.edu
Ray, Kristal R. Assistant Professor 435.283.7650 Ephraim Campus - HiTec 142 kristal.ray@usu.edu
Robins, Dawsey Staff Assistant MBA: 435.797.3624 / Management: 435.797.4062 MBA: BUS 108 / Management: BUS 415 dawsey.robins@usu.edu
Schulz, Eric Senior Lecturer 435.797.8216 Business 308 eric.schulz@usu.edu
Snyder, Ken Executive Dean and Chief Administrative Officer 435.797.1387 Business 507 ken.snyder@usu.edu
Sparrow, Brayden Entrepreneur in Residence 435.797.1107 BUS 309 brayden.sparrow@usu.edu
Stafford, Edwin Professor 435.797.3890 Business 304 ed.stafford@usu.edu
Thue, Matthew Adjunct Faculty 909-348-7269   matthew.thue@usu.edu
Warnick, Alan Associate Department Head, Principal Lecturer 435.797.2301 Business 407 alan.warnick@usu.edu
Winn, Brad Clinical Associate Professor Organizational Leadership and Strategy 435.851.2002 Granite School District (SLGRSD) 504 brad.winn@usu.edu