Contact Us

Search Options
Filter:     
Browse:    ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Katherine McConkie

Katherine McConkie

Associate MBA Director & Advisor
Departments: Management
Graduate Programs: Master of Business Administration (MBA)
Location:  Business 108
Office Phone:  435.797.1773
Fax:  435.797.1091

Graduate Advisor For:

Master of Business Administration (MBA)

Education

BA, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Utah State University, 1993 Minor: Management and Human Resources
MS, Master of Science in Instructional Technology and Learning Sciences, Utah State University, 2011

Biography

Kathy McConkie is Associate Director for the Jon M. Huntsman MBA program, with responsibility for ensuring a quality learning experience for the 200+ students in the full-time, on-campus MBA program and the professional, off-campus MBA programs. She is responsible for all programmatic issues, including recruitment, admission, enrollment, advising, program development and delivery, international trip development and coordination, and graduation.

Prior to joining the Huntsman School of Business in December 2006, Kathy worked for Utah State in various positions: grant specialist in the Center for Integrated BioSystems, business officer for Academic and International Affairs, and staff assistant for Continuing Education. She has loved the 20+ years that she's been at USU but gratefully acknowledges the lessons learned prior to that in her jobs as a ranch hand, department store clerk, cake decorator, donut fryer, elementary school secretary, and bank teller. Kathy strongly believes that all work is honorable and that there are valuable lessons to be learned from the people one works with.

Kathy was recognized in 2010 as the Professional Employee of the Year by the Jon M. Huntsman School of Business. She also received the USU Spring 2003 Professional Employee of the Quarter award and a Distinguished Service Award in February 2000 from the Biological and Irrigation Engineering Department. In 2008, Kathy started the Gratitude List in the Huntsman Programs and Advising Center, a weekly email that celebrates the things people are grateful for in their work and their lives. While working full-time at Utah State, Kathy graduated magna cum laude in 1993. She completed her master's degree with a 4.0 GPA in December 2011, also while working full-time.

Kathy currently serves as a member of the Huntsman School Curriculum and Scholarship Committees, as the advisor for the MBA Association (student club), and as the treasurer for the USU Professional Employees' Association. Outside of work, Kathy serves on the Board of Directors for the LCpl Michael J. Allred Scholarship Foundation, which awards scholarships to less-advantaged USU students, and on the planning committee for the Ride for the Fallen, a motorcycle charity run which raises money for scholarships and to benefit charities that serve wounded veterans and their families. She also serves as a member of Robert's Quilts, a charity which makes and donates quilts in memory of her son, Robert, who passed away in 2009. His motto, "Service - there's no higher purpose," has become their family slogan. Kathy and her husband, Carl, have three sons and five beautiful granddaughters.

HUNTSMAN SCHOOL AWARDS

Professional Employee of the Year - 2010

Related Huntsman News Articles

International Travel Requires Flexibility and Patience (The Huntsman Post - February 2013)

Name Title Phone Location Email
Albrecht, Chad Associate Professor of Management & Associate Academic Director of the MBA Program (435) 797-2365 Business 416 chad.albrecht@usu.edu
Alder, Suzette Business Assistant II 435.797.1789 Business 415 suzette.alder@usu.edu
Allen, Daniel Senior Lecturer 435.613.5245 Price Campus daniel.allen@usu.edu
Allred, Scott Lecturer 435.919.1281 Brigham City Campus scott.allred@usu.edu
Anderson, Douglas D. Dean & Professor of Management 435.797.2376 Business 511 douglas.anderson@usu.edu
Bartkus, Ken Professor 435.797.3891 Business 302A ken.bartkus@usu.edu
Bone, Sterling Associate Professor 435.797.9631 Business 302B sterling.bone@usu.edu
Brocato, Deanne Assistant Professor 435.797.7388 Business 306 deanne.brocato@usu.edu
Brough, Aaron R. Assistant Professor 435.797.1658 Business 302 aaron.brough@usu.edu
Callister, Ronda R. Professor 435.797.1905 Business 408 ronda.callister@usu.edu
Cook, Alison Associate Professor 435.797.7654 Business 404 alison.cook@usu.edu
Crane, Bret Assistant Professor    
Davis, James Department Head, Faculty Chair and Director of the MBA Program, and Professor 435.797.3882 Business 411 j.davis@usu.edu
Ferguson, John Lead Faculty Fellow, Senior Lecturer 435.797.0997 Business 702 john.ferguson@usu.edu
Ferguson, Merideth Associate Professor 435.797.3982 Business 410 merideth.ferguson@usu.edu
Gardner, Tim Associate Professor 435.797.3037 Business 405 timothy.gardner@usu.edu
Gibson , Cynthia Lecturer 435.259.7432 Moab Campus cynthia.gibson@usu.edu
Glauser, Michael Clinical Professor, Executive Director of the Jeffrey D. Clark Center for Entrepreneurship 435.797.8215 Business 309M mike.glauser@usu.edu
Hammond, Scott Clinical Professor 435.711.1702 Brigham City Campus scott.hammond@usu.edu
Hanks, Steven Associate Professor and Director, HR Graduate Studies 435.797.2373 Business 414 steven.hanks@usu.edu
Hartwell, Christopher Assistant Professor   Business 403
Herrmann, David Senior Lecturer 435.797.2287 Business 402 david.herrmann@usu.edu
Holland, Daniel Associate Professor, Huntsman Scholar Lead Faculty Fellow 435.797.3132 Business 418 daniel.holland.usu.edu
Kannan, Vijay Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Executive Director of International Programs 435.797.7212 Business 412 vijay.kannan@usu.edu
Lee, Konrad Associate Professor 435.797.5090 Business 406 konrad.lee@usu.edu
Leftwich, Steve MBA Career Development Manager 435.797.8916 Business 310 steve.leftwich@usu.edu
Li, Kunpeng Assistant Professor 435.797.7386 Business 419 kunpeng.li@usu.edu
McConkie, Katherine Associate MBA Director & Advisor 435.797.1773 Business 108 katherine.mcconkie@usu.edu
Olson, Jacob Adjunct Faculty 435-512-8141   jacob.olson@usu.edu
Pond, Julie Program Coordinator 435.797.9063 Business 101 julie.pond@usu.edu
Ray, Kristal R. Assistant Professor 435.283.7650 Ephraim Campus - HiTec 142 kristal.ray@usu.edu
Robins, Dawsey Staff Assistant MBA: 435.797.3624 / Management: 435.797.4062 MBA: BUS 108 / Management: BUS 415 dawsey.robins@usu.edu
Roper, Strat Lecturer   Brigham City Campus strat.roper@usu.edu
Schulz, Eric Senior Lecturer 435.797.8216 Business 308 eric.schulz@usu.edu
Snyder, Ken Executive Dean and Chief Administrative Officer 435.797.1387 Business 507 ken.snyder@usu.edu
Sparrow, Brayden Entrepreneur-in-Residence 435.797.1107 BUS 309M brayden.sparrow@usu.edu
Stafford, Edwin Associate Department Head and Professor 435.797.3890 Business 304 ed.stafford@usu.edu
Thunell, Andy Administrator of the Jeffrey D. Clark Center for Entrepreneurship 435-797-1107 Business 311 andy.thunell@usu.edu
Warnick, Alan Principal Lecturer 435.797.2301 Business 407 alan.warnick@usu.edu
Washburn, Nathan Associate Professor 435.797.2273 Business 420 nathan.t.washburn@gmail.com
Wills, Dani Office Assistant 435.797.3624 BUS 108 dani.wills@usu.edu
Winn, Brad Clinical Associate Professor, Organizational Leadership and Strategy Director, MHR Executive Program & Associate Director, Professional MBA 435.851.2002 Granite School District (SLGRSD) 504 brad.winn@usu.edu
Woolstenhulme, David Senior Lecturer 435.797.7910   david.woolstenhulme@usu.edu